Bhoo wears the thinking cap!

As if that is possible!

Perspectives – We are so different from each other!

Posted by bhoo on December 23, 2006

I have seen this time and again.  The perspectives are totally different from person to person.

What is wasteful for you is essential for me, what is essential for you, looks like a luxury to me.

I know my father can never spend money on taking an auto-rickshaw (3-wheeler taxicabs in India), and will spend 1 hour extra in reaching his destination through public transport.  I have always argued against that, quoting money value of my personal time.  But, recently when I reached SFO airport on Saturday the 25th November, I did precisely what would have got 100% blessing from my dad – I took a combination of BART and Caltrain – public transport – to reach my hotel at Sunnyvale, spending some 1 hour extra than taking a taxi.

I know my friend who is generally generous with his money, but when it comes to buying bottled water – he skimps – he cannot digest that we pay money for buying water.  On the other hand, I am pretty generous about buying water, but I am very calculative, when I am spending on lodging, or buy some equipment, furniture etc.

We try to unlock this mystery in several different ways.  We want to classify the whole world into 12 star signs, and try to classify the world with only 12 stamps.  How impossible can that be!  Same efforts go on with demographics, conservatives vs liberals, Indian vs American and so on and so forth, and at the best, those are highly probable characteristics.

Every single person is so different in their perspective! 

The other day, I was talking to my sister-in-law, and for her, maintaining a 4 bedroom 2.5 bath house is essential because she is having 1 kid, and the kid needs “space”.  But, buying organic food at higher pricing is “unaffordable”.  I was in loggerheads with her with a 2 hour argument as my views are 100% diagonally opposite to those – I can live in a 1 bedroom 1 bath house, and take my kid to a nearby park, if he wants space, so he gets to meet with others in addition to having space. 

But, I would absolutely want to buy organic food paying whatever premium it takes.  We both belong to same demographic.  I am sure some of the star-sign enthusiasts will find some relation to our different star-signs to explain this difference in perspective.

It is this difference and diversity of perspectives that makes life enjoyable!  And if it were predictable, life will be so boring!

One Response to “Perspectives – We are so different from each other!”

  1. Mugundhan said

    The choices we make are driven by what is higher priority for you: For example your sister-in-law thinks organic food is expensive because it does not impact her kids life directly hence less important while the 4 br 2.5 bath affects them directly so higher priority…

Leave a Reply

 
